Thu, 13 Aug 2020

Steyn, Miller, Morris released from IPL contracts

19 Nov 2019, 05:42 GMT+10

Cape Town - Proteas fast bowler Dale Steyn has been released from his Indian Premier League (IPL) contract by the Royal Challengers Bangalore for next year's 13th edition.

Steyn, who retired from Test cricket in August, only played two IPL games this season after picking up a shoulder injury, which significantly resulted in him missing the Cricket World Cup in England.

Proteas all-rounder Chris Morris was also dropped by the Delhi Capitals after picking up 13 wickets and only scoring 32 runs in his nine games.

Hard-hitting batsman David Miller had a disappointing showing with the bat for the Kings XI Punjab as he scored 213 runs in 10 games.

Reigning champions the Mumbai Indians have released Proteas fast bowler Beuran Hendricks, while they retained Proteas wicketkeeper/batsman Quinton de Kock.

Chennai Super Kings retained Proteas star trio Imran Tahir, Faf du Plessis and Lungi Ngidi after their impressive season with the runners-up.

IPL's highest wicket-taker Kagiso Rabada was also retained by the Delhi Capitals after the Proteas fast bowler picked up 25 wickets in his 12 games.

India's favourite South African AB de Villiers was retained by Royal Challengers Bangalore, which has been his IPL franchise since 2011.

Proteas fast bowler Hardus Viljoen was retained by the Kings XI Punjab side after taking seven wickets in his six games this season.

Viljoen, who recently ended his Kolpak contract with Derbyshire, has played only one Test match for the Proteas in 2016.

The IPL 2020 player auction will take place in Kolkata on December 19, 2019.

South African players retained:

Kagiso Rabada - Dehli Capitals

AB de Villiers - Royal Challengers Bangalore

Imran Tahir - Chennai Super Kings

Quinton de Kock - Mumbai Indians

Faf du Plessis - Chennai Super Kings

Lungi Ngidi - Chennai Super Kings

Hardus Viljoen - Kings XI Punjab

South African players released:

David Miller - Kings XI Punjab

Dale Steyn - Royal Challengers Bangalore

Chris Morris - Delhi Capitals

Beuran Hendricks - Mumbai Indians

Colin Ingram - Delhi Capitals

Anrich Nortje - Kolkata Knights Riders

Heinrich Klaasen - Royal Challengers Bangalore

More Kolkata News

Access More

Sign up for Calcutta News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!